Artists Pay Back (The Blog)

December 31, 2023

365 movies in 2023: #362 – Chicago

AI image from the prompt “Chicago musical.”

I plan to watch 365 movies this year because it’s good to have pointless goals. And even better than them simply being pointless, are goals with stipulations. At least two movies a week should be something I’ve never seen before and it doesn’t have to be “one movie per day” as long as I hit 365.

THE MOVIE: Chicago

Seen it before? Yes. In theaters and own the DVD for many more viewings since.

Thoughts: I took my wife to see this in theaters on Valentine’s Day and she fell asleep about 2/3 of the way in. That isn’t a knock on the movie. The earliest showing was 10 p.m. and even good movies can sometimes make her sleepy. It’s ironic because I didn’t have much interest in this aside from knowing that Catherine Zeta-Jones was starring. Who is amazing. I didn’t realize she had such vocal talent and was a great dancer – she truly does it all. I love the little head movement to the spotlight operator in the opening number. I knew of this one from my high school theater days but would often confuse it with Cabaret (probably because both have lots of lingerie-heavy wardrobe) but didn’t know the story line and had little interest going in. However, this might be my favorite musical next to Little Shop of Horrors. It was also one of the first musicals my daughter got into when we watched it a few years back (and now she has a long list of favorites but still has this one pretty high up.)Not every song is a winner but some of the best (the incredible Cell Block Tango along with We Both Reached for the Gun and Mister Cellophane) are as good as any other musical can boast with very few skippable ones (All I Care About, Roxie). The supporting cast holds court against the leads. Queen Latifa impresses (love how her career has evolved from rap pioneer to now.) John C. Reilly is great as hapless, halfwit, Amos (those sad-clown jazz hands and slow side shuffle in Mister Cellophane).  Christine Baranski making an impression in a small role. Richard Gere utilizing his deep well of smarm (he has an oddly appealing nasally delivery when he sings.) Not sure how much of what is on screen is direct from the broadway version, but the staging is so good as it cuts between the fantasy sequence and the real world counterparts. The clockwork precision of the movements and music is so well done. It’s definitely a musical that benefits from the visuals especially for songs that don’t stand as well on their own. Like “I Can’t Do It Alone” is one of my favorite screen moments but not a song that I ever listen to like the three noted above. If there is one knock, it’s that I don’t like Roxie ending up on stage like she dreamed. She didn’t deserve that happy ending. (Velma did though.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.